Monday, July 4, 2011

The Battle of the Books 2011

Presentation: Battle of the Books 2011

Michael Farry put in a great performance to win this year's Battle of the Books at the Castle Hotel in Trim on Sunday last. Ably assisted by Bill Comerford, James linnane, and Caroline Finn who put in a great performance herself the trophy was presented afterwards by Noel Dempsey.

Early favourites and odds on to win the event The Meath Writers ran out seconds on an afternoon hampered out to bad ground and the over reliance on a timepiece purloined off on an away leg out to the Stretford End. Coupled with the long "wait" of expectation and the low blood sugar levels, the failure to secure an inside line mitigated heavily against when the match officials lined out on the other side, but gracious to the end the Meath Writers offered the heartiest of congratulations and departed for lunch, in Dunshaughlin!

Photo: Noel Dempsey presenting Trophy to Michael Farry and other members of team.
          From left/Caroline Finn, Bill Comerford, Noel Dempsey, Michael Farry
          And James Linnane,

No comments: